Don’t Dress Like His Wife

mad men season 6For the complete article visit Her 30′s official website.

In season 6 of “Mad Men,” Julia Ormond reprises her role of Marie Calvet, Megan Draper’s hot French Canadian mother visiting New York. In this episode Marie gives Megan advice on how to get her fake TV husband, (otherwise known as the ever dreamy John Hamm, or my real life TV star boyfriend), to do what she desires. Marie turns to her daughter and says, “Don’t dress like his wife.”

As a married woman in her thirties, these five words of advice have stayed with me, so much so that they now haunt me. I think about these words every time I get home from a long day of work and all I want to do is step out of my day clothes and into something more comfortable. And you know, I really mean comfortable. In other words, not lingerie but the total opposite of what “stepping into something more comfortable” has come to mean. Comfortable meaning a t-shirt, lose fitting shorts or pants and flip flops. I want to wash off the make-up, put my hair in a ponytail and not care about what I look like but instead, more often than not, I think to myself, “Don’t dress like his wife.”

Hey fellow wordpressers, to continue reading follow the link please. Don’t Dress Like His Wife on Her 30′s.

Leave a Reply to Her 30's

